Aerated Concrete problems

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ebikeerwidnes

Hi all
Thought this would be better here because it might well get political

at least it will if I post and I am starting it so.....

Anyway - as a retired teacher my immediate thought was that some Heads will tell affected kids to got to remote learning as in the pandemic

People might think Oh - OK - teachers are already set up for this
and - technically they are - mostly

But due to changes in exam requirements, National Curriculum and requirements from management - I pretty much never taught the same thing 2 years running
bit would carry over but summer required a lot of preparation

so changing to "on-line" would requires a lot of work - and school starts Tuesday or Wednesday next week!!!

basically - if I was married with kids "Hello darling - you know I said I would come with you and help getting the kids uniforms sorted this weekend
well tought - I'm working - in fact you need to feed me and look after the kids all weekend
and don;t forget to contact your boss and tell him you need extra time off as our kids will be at home for a few extra weeks and I will be locked in the study teaching my pupils on-line

what could be a problem in that?

But - it is an emergency so these things happen

except that this concrete is KNOWN (and has always been known) to have a lifespan of about 30 years
and was generally used in the 1950s to 1990s
and has not been replaced - and how long ago was all that

and anyway - 30 year lifespan and you use it in a building?????

Still - even I can;t manage to blame Cameron and Austerity for this - although I would bet the problem was raised and dismissed (zero evidence but ....)

but apparently it was raised 5 years ago - and dismissed - so I can blame this lot - probably johnson and whatever education minister was currently stuck in the revolving door!

BoldonLad

Old man on a bike. Not a member of a clique.