F*ck the Tories: a Thread Dedicated to Suella Braverman

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Was going to post this as an addition to the Dories thread but on reflection Suella, another minister who's as as thick as pig sh*t, deserves one of her own:

https://www.theguardian.com/society...t-have-to-accommodate-childrens-gender-wishes

I am not a lawyer but I'm pretty sure she's totally off beam saying that the requirement to be 18 to get a Gender Recognition Certificate means minors cannot choose their own gender identity. In fact they would need to have done so to meet the Gender Recognition Act's requirement to have lived a period of time in their adopted gender if they were to obtain a certificate at 18.

Ian H

Guru
She's not thick. She has little respect for for the traditional role of Attorney-General and is more than willing to subvert the law for party-political ends. It's what right-wing populist governments around the world are doing.

AuroraSaab

Legendary Member
I don't want to turn this into another discussion on women's rights and transgender issues as we've done that to death. Anybody can choose their own gender identity - it's a feeling in your head, and many people, like me, don't believe in the notion of gender identity. Gender identity is not a protected characteristic under the Equality Act though and schools have no obligation to accommodate pupils in their chosen gender identity. They do have an obligation under the Education Act to provide single sex spaces like toilets and changing rooms though.

There is an obligation not to discriminate against transgender pupils but this doesn't override the single sex exemptions of the Equality Act. If they want to, schools can accommodate children's wishes to change their name or wear what uniform they wish but they are not obliged to allow them to do so, or to use the girls toilets and changing rooms if they are a biological male.